» » The Possible winners of Indian Premier League 2014

The 7th edition of Indian Premier League will be starting from 16th of April 2014.This is the first time that the tournament will be played in two different countries. The first 20 matches of the tournament will be played in three different cities of U.A.E and after that tournament will move to India where it will end on 1st of June. The opening encounter in Indian Premier League will be played between the defending champions Mumbai Indians and Shahruk Khan’s Kolkata Knight Riders. Here is the list of top 3 teams that are favorites to lift this year’s IPL trophy.

3.  Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Indian Premier League T20 2014 Sunrisers Hyderabad

In this year’s IPL the Sunrisers Hyderabad will be the dark horse of the tournament. The team will be captained by Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan who himself is known for his clean hitting. In this year’s auction Sunrisers Hyderabad has bought the dynamic Australian pair of David Warner and Aaron Finch which will lead their batting this year along with the skipper Shikhar Dhawan and Zimbabwean captain Brendon Taylor. The all-rounder spots will be filled by vice captain Darren Sammy and Irfan Pathan. The bowling department will be headed by South African fast bowler Dale Steyn and with the likes of Ishant Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. In the presence of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the fast bowling combination seems to be very formidable and in case of spin bowling, Sunrisers Hyderabad will depend on Amit Mishra who is very high on confidence after his great show in T20 World cup this year. On paper SRH has a very good side and they are surely one the teams to watch out for in IPLT20 2014.

Indian Premier League 2014
David Warner and Aaron Finch performances will define SRH season this year

2. Mumbai Indians

Indian Premier League 2014 Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians will enter the Indian Premier League tournament as one of the biggest favorites. Mukesh Ambani’s side will be high on confidence after finally lifting the trophy last year after a sensational final cricket match. The team’s batting will be headed by their skipper Rohit Sharma and with the addition of Australian legend Michael Hussey in their ranks the Mumbai Indians has added the calm factor in their batting line up. With the like of Kieron Pollard, similar hitter Corey Anderson and Ambati Rayudu down the order, their batting seems to be in good hands. But the biggest strength of Mumbai Indians lies in their bowling. In fast bowling department Mumbai Indians have the most dangerous bowler in their rank in form of Lasith Malinga which will be their biggest trump card. The team will also have the services of the Medium Pacer Zaheer khan and Australian pacer Josh Hazelwood. In spin bowling, the team will rely on Harbhajan Singh and Pragyan Ojha. Having a perfect balance of bat and bowl in their team Mumbai Indians is all set to defend their title this year.

Indian Premier League 2014 Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga will be Main weapon for Mumbai Indians

1. Chennai Super Kings

Indian Premier League 2014 Chennai Super Kings

Under the captaincy of M.S Dhoni Chennai Super Kings  is by far the most consistent team in the history of Indian Premier League. The team has reached the IPL finals 5 times out of 6.The 2010 and 2011 champions will again enter the tournament as the hot favorites. Their batting will be spearheaded by their vice captain Suresh Raina and with the addition of New Zealand skipper Brendon Mccullum and Dwayne Smith the CSK’s top order is one of the best in the tournament. Captain cool M.S Dhoni and West Indian all-rounder Dwayne Bravo will retain their role as finishers. Although the fast bowling of the team is not very strong and they will have to rely on the inexperience of Hllfenhaus and Hastings but Chennai Super King’s biggest strength is their spin bowling attack which will be headed by Ashwin and with the likes of Ravindra Jadeja and Samuel Badree in the team. Chennai Super King’s spin bowling attack is the best in the IPL tournament. Having a well balanced side and with the experience of M.S Dhoni in their ranks Chennai Super King’s will be eager to lift the trophy for the third time.

Indian Premier League 2014 Brandon McCullum
                                                         Brendon Mccullum will play a key part for CSK this year                                             

IPLT20 is going to be start few hours later. The IPL 2014 will be broadcasted live on Geo Super and its live streaming will be available here. The related news and videos of IPL will also be published on our site. Keep visiting this site for staying updated with the latest happenings about the IPL Tournament.

About Muhammad Aasim

A Textile Engineer and Marketer and part time blogger from Lahore, Pakistan. Apart from Job, I use my evening time to write articles, and to update this site. Currently learning Internet Marketing and Social Media Impact on Marketing
Follow Me on Twitter and Google+
Newer Post
Older Post

No comments:

Leave a Reply